booking line 01482 392699
booking line 01482 392699
Bridlington Poetry Festival
12 - 21 june 2015

Bridlington Poetry Festival
Church Lane, Sewerby YO15 1EA
Council Offices
Skirlaugh HU11 5HN

Summer School 2015

18 – 21 June
Bridlington Poetry Festival
Summer School
with Glyn Maxwell & Jo Shapcott

This intensive creative writing programme for a maximum of 12 participants will be led this year by renowned poet-tutors Glyn Maxwell and Jo Shapcott.

We have welcomed four successful poets to tutor over the last two years - Daljit Nagra and Pascale Petit in 2013, and Don Paterson and Jean Sprackland in 2014 - and this year’s course will prove just as popular.

With accommodation in one of Bridlington's finest hotels - Marton Grange Country House - of which we have exclusive use for the weekend, participants will enjoy three morning classes together at Sewerby Hall. The Summer School begins on Thursday 18 June, early evening and finishes on Sunday 21 June at lunchtime. During the afternoons, participants will have free time to write in this most inspirational setting, attend Festival events and have one-to-one sessions on Friday and Saturday with the tutors.

Ticket price includes bed and breakfast, plus a sandwich lunch. Participants will also receive a weekend pass to all events. Places are limited, so book early. To book, please call our box office on 01482 392699 (Mon-Thurs 9am-5pm, Fri 9am - 4.45pm)

Early-Bird price (including accommodation): £395, if booked on or before Tuesday 12 May
Price after 12 May (including accommodation): £425
Two places without accommodation are available: £325

For 2015 we are able to offer two residential bursaries at the greatly reduced fee of £275.

Bursaries are competitive. You will need to send a covering letter (no more than two sides of A4) by email (with the subject header Summer School Bursary Application) to  giving information about yourself, evidence of your commitment to writing (including references to any published work), why you believe you should be a recipient of a bursary and what benefits you hope to gain from attendance at the Summer School.

Deadline for bursary applications is Monday 11 May.

Glyn Maxwell’s nine volumes of poetry include The Breakage, Hide Now, and Pluto, all of which were shortlisted for either the Forward or T. S. Eliot Prizes, and The Nerve, which won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize. He was one of the original ‘New Generation Poets’ in 1993, along with Simon Armitage, Carol Ann Duffy and Don Paterson. His Selected Poems, One Thousand Nights and Counting, was published in 2011. On Poetry, a guidebook for the general reader, was published by Oberon in their Masters Series in 2012. It was described by Hugo Williams in The Spectator as ‘a modern classic’ and by Adam Newey in The Guardian as ‘the best book about poetry I’ve ever read.’

Jo Shapcott was born in London. Poems from her three award-winning collections, Electroplating the Baby (1988), Phrase Book (1992) and My Life Asleep (1998) are gathered in a selected poems, Her Book (2000). She has won a number of literary prizes including the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Collection, the Forward Prize for Best Collection and the National Poetry Competition (twice). Tender Taxes, her versions of Rilke, was published in 2001. Her most recent collection, Of Mutability, was published in 2010 and won the Costa Book Award. In 2011, Jo Shapcott was awarded the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry.